Rehabilitation Centre for children with cerebral palsy (CP)

Rehabilitation for children with cerebral palsy and other motor disorders
Help the project

The Medical Centre Miloserdie based in Martha and Mary Convent has been working since 2010 in order to help and assist children with CP (The Rehabilitation and Habilitation Centre for Children with Cerebral Palsy and Other Motor Disorders). Its a joined project of the Convent and the Orthodox charity organization Miloserdie. A multidisciplinary team of professionals, such as neurologists, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists-neuro speech pathologists, exercise therapy doctors and coaches, teachers, and massage therapists work at the Centre. Rehabilitation means recovery of lost functions. But a lot of children suffering from CP need not just recovery of whats been lost but mostly acquisition of the functions completely alien to them, i.e. habilitation.

Infantile Cerebral Palsy (ICP) is a central nervous system damage which causes dysfunctions of motor and muscle activity, eyesight, hearing, speech and psyche. In a mild degree of CP a patient is able to take care of themselves. A moderate one requires adults support. Those with a severe degree are heavily dependent on others.

CP is fortunate to be easily corrected. Patients lives with even a severe degree of disease can be greatly improved. The one whos only able to lie can be taught to sit; the one who can sit may be taught to stand and even move. That is what the specialists at the Centre aim at.

Our outpatients' age ranges from a year and a half to 20. Each and every is treated according to a personalized programme. An intensive rehabilitation course normally lasts 20 days. Afterwards, the childs parents should work with their kid at home, seeing the doctor approximately once every half a year.

The Medical Centre helps in complex rehabilitation some 370-400 patients annually.

Donate

Центр реабилитации детей с ДЦП

Реабилитация детей с ДЦП и другими двигательными нарушениями
Помочь проекту

В медицинском центре «Милосердие» на территории Марфо-Мариинской обители с 2010 года действует центр реабилитации детей с ДЦП («Центр реабилитации и абилитации детей с ДЦП и другими двигательными нарушениями») – совместный проект Марфо-Мариинской обители и православной службы помощи «Милосердие». В центре работает мультидисциплинарная команда профессионалов (врачи-неврологи, физиотерапевты, эрготерапевт, логопеды-нейродефектологи, врач ЛФК, инструктора ЛФК, педагоги, медсестры по массажу). «Реабилитация» означает «восстановление утраченных функций». Но многие дети, страдающие ДЦП, нуждаются не столько в восстановлении, сколько в приобретении полностью отсутствующих навыков, то есть в абилитации.

Детский церебральный паралич (ДЦП) – это заболевание центральной нервной системы, вызывающее нарушения двигательной и мышечной активности, зрения, слуха, речи и психики. При легкой степени ДЦП человек способен обслуживать себя самостоятельно. Средняя степень требует помощи со стороны взрослых. Люди с тяжелым течением ДЦП в очень большой степени зависят от окружающих.

ДЦП очень хорошо поддается коррекции. Даже при тяжелой степени заболевания качество жизни человека можно существенно улучшить. «Лежачего» можно научить сидеть, «сидячего» – стоять и даже передвигаться. Над этим и работают специалисты Центра.     

В Центре амбулаторно проходят лечение пациенты от 1,5 до 20 лет. Для каждого составляется индивидуальная программа. Реабилитационный интенсивный курс рассчитан на 20 дней. Далее родители должны самостоятельно заниматься с ребенком дома, показываясь врачу приблизительно раз в полгода.

Ежегодно медицинский центр оказывает услуги по комплексной реабилитации для 370-400 детей, из них:

•для 250 детей только с ДЦП с регистрацией в г. Москве – на средства Департамента труда и социальной защиты населения г. Москвы (по тендеру)

•для 120 детей с ДЦП и другими нейромышечными нарушениями по обращениям из Москвы и регионов – на частные благотворительные пожертвования. Именно эта деятельность центра нуждается в постоянной поддержке и пожертвованиях.


Сделать пожертвование